2017 WISB Awards Long List


The long list returns! Last year, I introduced the first ever WISB Awards Long list, which represents all the things I loved in 2015 and, more or less, my Hugo Awards Ballot (some items are obviously not eligible). This year, I’m at it again. Shortly, I’ll release the winners of the 2017 WISB Awards. Presumably, there will be thunderous applause or something.

As always, I do not include my own work on the long list. If you’re interested in nominating me for something, feel free to do so for the following:

  • Best Fancast
    • The Skiffy and Fanty Show (Shaun Duke, Julia Rios, Paul Weimer, Mike Underwood, Rachael Acks, David Annandale, Jen Zink, and Trish Matson)
    • Totally Pretentious (Shaun Duke and David Annandale)

Now here’s the official 2017 WISB Awards Long List:

(IMPORTANT:  I am in the process of filling out the categories. New updates will go up periodically throughout the day.)

Best Novel

Best Novella

Best Novelette

Best Short Story

Best Series (for the Hugos)

  • The Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold
    • Qualifying Work:  Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen (Baen)
  • Foreigner Series by C.J. Cherryh
    • Qualifying Work:  Visitor (DAW)
  • The Expanse by James S.A. Corey
    • Qualifying Work:  Babylon’s Ashes (Orbit)
  • The Craft Sequence by Max Gladstone
    • Qualifying Work:  Four Roads Cross (Tor)
  • Russell’s Attic by S.L. Huang
    • Qualifying Work:  Plastic Smile (self-published)
  • Court of Fives by Kate Elliott
    • Qualifying Work:  Poisoned Blade (Little, Brown)

Best Non-Fiction Work

Best Graphic Story

Best Feature Film

  • Arrival (dir. Denis Villeneuve; written by Eric Heisserer)
  • Deadpool (dir. Tim Miller; written by Rhett Reese and Paul Wernick)
  • Rogue One (dir. Gareth Edwards; written by Chris Weitz and Tony Gilroy)
  • Hidden Figures (dir. Theodore Melfi; written by Theodore Melfi and Allison Schroeder)
  • Captain America: Civil War (dir. The Russo Brothers; written by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely)
  • Assassin’s Creed (dir. Justin Kurzel; written by Michael Lesslie, Adam Cooper, and Bill Collage)
  • Moana (dir. Ron Clements and John Musker; written by Jared Bush)
  • Zootopia (dir. Byron Howard, Rich Moore, and Jared Bush; written by Jared Bush and Phil Johnston)

Best Television Series or Short Presentation

  • Chuck Tingle Trolling the Puppies
  • Luke Cage (Season One)
    • “Manifest” (S1E7)(dir. Andy Goddard; written by Akela Cooper)
    • “Now You’re Mine” (S1E11)(dir. George Tillman, Jr.; written by Christian Taylor)
  • Black Mirror (Season Three)
    • “San Junipero” (S3E4)(dir. Owen Harris; written by Charlie Brooker)
  • Westworld (Season One)
    • “Trompe L’Oeil” (S1E7)(dir. Frederick E. O. Toye; written by Halley Gross and Jonathan Nolan)
    • “The Bicameral Mind” (S1E10)(dir. Jonathan Nolan; written by Lisa Joy and Jonathan Nolan)
  • Game of Thrones (Season Six)
    • “Battle of the Bastards” (S6E9)(dir. Miguel Sapochnik; written by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss)
  • Daredevil (Season Two)
    • “New York’s Finest” (S2E3)(dir. Marc Jobst; written by Mark Verheiden)
    • “The Man in the Box” (S2E10)(dir. Peter Hoar; written by John C. Kelley, Whit Anderson, and Sneha Koorse)
    • “Penny and Dime” (S2E4)(dir. Peter Hoar; written by John C. Kelley)
  • Blackstar by David Bowie
  • Stranger Things (Season One)
    • “Chapter Four:  The Body” (S1E4)(dir. Shawn Levy; written by Justin Doble)
    • “Chapter Six:  The Monster” (S1E6)(dir. The Duffer Brothers; written by Jessie Nickson-Lopez)

Best Editors (Any Length)

  • Long Form
    • Jonathan Oliver (Solaris)
    • Marco Palmieri (Tor Books)
    • Miriam Weinberg (Tor Books)
    • Navah Wolfe (Saga Press)
    • Betsy Wollheim (DAW)
    • Sheila Gilbert (DAW)
    • Joe Monti (Saga Press)
    • Patrick Nielsen-Hayden (Tor Books)
  • Short Form
    • Rashida J. Smith (GigaNotoSaurus)
    • John Joseph Adams (Lightspeed Magazine)
    • Neil Clarke (Clarkesworld)
    • Lee Harris (Tor.com)
    • Lynne and Michael Thomas (Uncanny Magazine)
    • Michi Trotta (Uncanny Magazine)
    • Scott H. Andrews (Beneath Ceaseless Skies)
    • Wendy Wagner (Lightspeed Magazine)
    • Niall Harrison (Strange Horizons)
    • Brian White (Fireside Fiction)
    • Ellen Datlow (Tor.com)
    • Jonathan Strahan (Tor.com)
    • E. Catherine Tobler (Shimmer)
    • Sheila Williams (Asimov’s Science Fiction)

Best Publisher

  • Tor Books
  • DAW
  • Solaris
  • Saga Press
  • Ace

Best Artist

Best Magazine (Print or Audio)

Best Fanzine / Website

Best Podcast

Note:  I have not included my own podcasts on this list for obvious reasons. They are listed at the top in case you want to include them on your ballots.

Note #2:  Many of the podcasts listed here are not SF/F podcasts. The WISB Awards are not exclusively SF/F anymore. I have also only included podcasts that were intended to be released as podcasts. Programs meant for television that were converted into podcasts do not qualify.

Note #3:  Many of the podcasts listed here are professional, including some SF/F-related ones.

Best Fan Writer

Best New Writer

 And there you go!  Expect the winners soon!

About the Author:

Shaun Duke is an aspiring writer, a reviewer, and an academic. He is currently an Assistant Professor of Digital Rhetoric and Writing at Bemidji State University. He received his PhD in English from the University of Florida and studies science fiction, postcolonialism, digital fan cultures, and digital rhetoric.

3 thoughts on “2017 WISB Awards Long List

Leave a Reply